Top white facebook2x Top white phone2x 09 424 2118 Top white email2x Email us Top white search2x Basket Login Join
Home / News / An evening of comradeship & celebration
Home / News / An evening of comradeship & celebration

An evening of comradeship & celebration

872469 orig
Published 05:32 on 23 May 2021

WHAT A NIGHT! An evening of celebration, collaboration and culinary delights greeted our members, and our guests from Weiti Boating Club, for the Annual Prizegiving at Gulf Harbour Yacht Club. Many of our very loyal sponsors were also in attendance to present the various trophies to the winners and also provided additional generous prizes to support our Learn to Sail Programme. Thank you to Burnsco, Gulf Harbour Marina, Taylor & Co Lawyers, YOU Travel NZ, AA Solar, Barfoot & Thompson Whangaparaoa, Hibiscus Marine Coatings, Auckland Engineering Supplies (ME), Trans Pacific Marine & Wright Technologies - a huge thanks to you all!

The club's Commodore, John Butcher, welcomed everyone before introducing the Club's Patron Alan Wright, one of the country's best known yacht designers, to start the evening's proceedings. Over the course of the evening, it was encouraging to learn that despite a number of lockdowns and inclement weather conditions only 10 races from 48 were cancelled during the year resulting in 33 boats competing in 305 races both showing an increase over the previous year. John Butcher shared an additional reflection; "The 2020/21 season was also successful due to the close relationship between Weiti Boating Club, Manly Sailing Club and Gulf Harbour Yacht Club working together to provide opportunities for people of all ages to enjoy the sport of sailing".

Many of our sponsors were in attendance to present the silverware and trophies to the winners and also provided additional generous raffle prizes to support our Keelboat Learn to Sail Programme.

The prize winners were:

Taylor & Co Lawyers Ladies Twilight Series Linda Parrish on Toyshop
Gulf Harbour Marina Twilight Series Miles & Sue Cross on Planet X
AA Solar Gulf Series Bruce & Linda Gentry on Big Kahoona
Barfoot & Thompson Two-handed Series Mark Holliday on First Priority
Burnsco Cruising Series John & Linda Parrish on Toyshop
Brian Holgate Memorial Petanque Trophy Jocelin Allemann & Grahame Brown

Last updated 05:36 on 16 August 2021

© 2021 Gulf Harbour Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager